Hockey Rules the House

1a2d31cf168a85bbef369de3e6b6c941

Wahoo- hockey season is just around the corner! Well maybe not just around the corner… unless October is the nearest corner. As a lifelong Red Wing fan I’m excited for the new season. Growing up in Detroit it was easy to follow my team, but since moving to California it’s got a little more complicated. If you’ll indulge my whining for a few minutes while I vent my frustrations and bare my hockey soul.

Because hockey isn’t played much in San Diego, very few games get televised. NBC and NBCsN will air a few games a week but it isn’t usually Detroit.I signed up for NHL Channel and get to watch many of the games. But the NHL network (which isn’t available through Time-Warner) will sometimes televise the Wings and that will keep it from showing on NHL Channel. When it’s all said and done with the blackouts from NHL Network, CBC, and NBCSN it seems like I only get to watch about 1/3 of the games. What’s a hockey lover in San Diego to do?

You sign up to split a pair of season tickets to the newest AHL team- the San Diego Gulls. Looking forward to some live hockey- even if it is minor league stuff. The Gulls are the farm team of the Anaheim Ducks. The schedule should be coming out soon and we’ll divide up the tickets- that’s what I’m looking forward to over the next few weeks.  The next few posts should entail my upcoming college classes and the teaching gig I’ll be doing this Fall.

So what do you plan on doing this week?

Leave a Reply

